The Bluestone Award for Community Service

The Bluestone Award for Community Service


Trish Doney: For her contribution to heritage. Trish was Chair of ACO at an important time, the Downtown Task Force undertook the rejuvenation and restoration of many building in the downtown.


Suzanne Camm: For many years of her support of the mission of ACO Port Hope, contributing to the Port Hope Garden and House Tours, and through the design and promotion of pewter impressions of the community’s heritage buildings.


Julie Mavis: For her leadership of the chapter, especially for her coordination of the Historic Port Hope Hospital campaign, and the acquisition of 85 Walton St. from RBC, and the and process to a not-for-profit entity that promised to restore the second floor of The Opera House

Blake & Eileen Holton: For sustained community heritage leadership, support of The House and Garden Tours, The Friends of Wesleyville, and many initiatives of this chapter.


Charles Wickett & Dennis Hogarth: For their leadership of the ACO Port Hope Executive Board, as well as in the creation of the Port Hope Heritage Foundation. The Foundation played a critical role in the preservation of 85 Walton St., The Opera House by supporting the study commissioned from NetGains to discern how or even whether this unusual building built in 1871 might be successfully re-purposed.  Both also played important roles in the work of the Executive Board in 2020 to convince ACOntario and the CRA that heritage grants to private owners to assist restoration work were an appropriate and important tool for this charity’s support of conservation. 


Peggy Bennett: For Chapter leadership, especially in growing its membership.